Waiting for Godot

But for today I am furious.

After a  week of sickness, chasing flares, sleepless nights, missed work and school and a particularly scary and prolonged asthma attack we took Zoey to the doctor and were prescribed amoxicillin for a double ear infection.

Within two minutes of ingesting the amoxicillin, or Augmentin, Zoey broke out in hives everywhere. She’s been prescribed this without issue a couple times in the past and I wasn’t sure if this was just one of those benign rashes that appear with amoxicillin.

They subsided for a couple hours and came back with an itchy vengeance  everywhere along with a sort of delirious anxiety and labored breathing.  I held her in one hand with the EpiPen and phone in another while I waited for Benadryl to calm the itching.

I was always told that if you are standing over your child with an EpiPen, you should probably use it. Thankfully the Benadryl kicked in after 20 minutes, but I will never wait that long again.

While I wait for Z to “grow out of her allergies”, we just keep adding to the long list.  Whenever I filled out medical forms, it was an odd point of pride for me to leave the medication allergy area blank.

It’s the little things.

Until that time when POOF she’s “grown out of it”.

2 responses to “Waiting for Godot

  1. Oh Stephanie and zoey. So sorry to hear this!!! How horrible to have to deal with being so sick and then to have this reaction to the antibiotic. I can imagine you feel so frustrated right now and how hard it is to watch her sick. I’m saying a special prayer for a quick recovery:)

    • Aw thanks Car-we’re ok. Gonna wait out this one colonial style, without any other versions penicillin:) thanks for feeling angry with me-instantly made me feel better!

Leave a Reply

